A Picture is Worth a 1000 Words…

So what about photography???  An art??  Of course!!  Well, that’s my opinion anyway.  I have some friends who are amazing photographers.  Like anything, there is a place for a photo, when it best defines a scene; one that isn’t best suited to be painted, but to be photographed.  Sometimes there are sunsets that are so absolutely incredible and outrageous that painting them would result in something a bit garish.  A photograph is needed to  define the actual beauty of the scene.

A few years ago I bought 3 photos done by Bill Hughlett, an accomplished photographer who is  a brother-in-law of my friends Steve and Dianna Woolley.    His work that I have, was part of a show that he,  I and numerous other artists participated in as a fund-raiser for the now closed Carnegie Art Center in Walla Walla.  What intrigued me about his work was the fact that Dianna told me they were not digitally enhanced.  Wow!     What an  eye!  The one of the boat hull and reflection was just such an intriguing piece…but the other two I bought were subject matter that I absolutely am crazy about… architecture – and that with a  sort of southwest flair with interesting entries, stairs, doors, etc. 

Someone who’s photographic skills have taken him down a career path and who photographs many of the local scenes that I paint is Mark VanDonge.  His work is spectacular with interesting light and composition.  His photos of the Blue Mountains are exquisite and he also does these great real estate videos of homes for the real estate market.

(Pioneer Park by Mark VanDonge)

His work, I think, has taken the housing market’s photos to entirely a new level of professionalism.  If you pick up any local real estate publication, you will find his work gracing the pages.

Look at the work of Alfred Stieglitz….what an art of how he photographed Georgia O”Keefe and many other subject matter.  His nude work of her was quite beautiful as were his fully clothed portraits…And the work of another great photographer – Ansel Adams.  Only photography can represent what he saw and the gifts he gave the visual world.  Incredible black and whites! 

Georgia O;Keefe by Alfred Stieglitz

My friend Kimberley Miner is a  photographer who has been very innovative and marketing minded in her work.  Last winter she offfered mini sessions of 30  minutes for photographs.  Les and I bought one and it was one of the most fun times to go out to a deserted old farmstead and let Kimberly photograph us and our dogs.  She said, “I am not going to pose you; I want to see you just do things you normally do.” or some such words.  We have never had as many compliments on photos of us or had as many be ones that  we liked.  Photography is Kim’s art!  

These are but a few of my favorite photographers who grace us with their “art!”

Leave a comment